What Does "Pride" Mean To You? A Preview to Pride Parade Uptown - FOX13 News, WHBQ FOX 13

What Does "Pride" Mean To You? A Preview to Pride Parade Uptown Charlotte

Posted: Updated:
  • Caroline FountainMore>>

  • Caroline Fountain

    Caroline Fountain

    Wednesday, June 18 2014 1:53 PM EDT2014-06-18 17:53:21 GMT
    A former reporter for CN2 News in Rock Hill for two years, I was the third DJ to become a proud member of Charlotte's brand new news station.
    A former reporter for CN2 News in Rock Hill for two years, I was the third DJ to become a proud member of Charlotte's brand new news station.
  • ISIS Salon Causes Controversy

    ISIS Salon Causes Controversy

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 8:11 PM EDT2014-09-17 00:11:10 GMT
    A local salon and spa changes its name from "ISIS" to "Taylor Made" due to the acronym's association with the terrorist group ISIS or Islamic State.
    A local salon and spa changes its name from "ISIS" to "Taylor Made" due to the acronym's association with the terrorist group ISIS or Islamic State.
  • 600 Jobs Coming to Charlotte

    600 Jobs Coming to Charlotte

    Monday, September 15 2014 5:25 PM EDT2014-09-15 21:25:46 GMT
    The Charlotte company AvidXchange is expanding, and bringing 603 new jobs to Mecklenburg county by the end of 2018.
    The Charlotte company AvidXchange is expanding, and bringing 603 new jobs to Mecklenburg county by the end of 2018.
Charlotte, N.C. (WJZY) -- Like many words, "pride" has a different meaning for almost every person.

"Being proud of yourself, being proud of who you are, your community, and your friends," said Scott Lindsley.

"I think it's just as much about your personal belief system as it is being part of a community," said Joey Hewell.

"Stand up for what you believe in, when you do something well, show it any way you can," said Heather McDonnell.

Lindsley and Hewell are a couple living in NODA. They'll be in Sunday's parade along with McDonnell, the owner of Cupcrazed in Fort Mill.

For all of them, Pride is celebrating who you are.

"When I did the marriage equality cupcake last year, it meant a lot to me to show that I believe in equality for all people," McDonnell said. "Participating in the parade is just one more way I can use my business as a tool and say this is how I feel about things."

"Over the past decade, since I've been out, to show my support for people who are like me, who are younger, who are terrified, not sure if they should come out or not, if people will accept them," Hewell said.

"What an event like this will do is show folks who are having a hard time, look you have a family of thousands of people. If you need people to lean on, they're here," Lindsley said.

Pride is also having the courage to be who you are.

"I grew up in the South, so it took me until my early 20's until I could admit it to myself. Now I think I have become much more prideful," Hewell said.

"A lot of people said they were going to stop shopping at our store because we took a stance or had an opinion. That's fine with me. There's other bakeries out there if they want to go there just because we believe in human rights and equality, so be it," McDonnell said.

And that's what this weekend's Pride Parade is all about. Taking pride in who you are.

The Bank of America Charlotte Pride Parade will kick off at 9th St. on N. Tryon St., continue down Tryon St. to Trade St., turn left and end at College St. Parade stand and VIP viewing area will be located in Independence Square at Trade & Tryon Sts. Parade line-up and set-up areas are from 9th St. to 11th St.

80,000 people are expected to be in uptown this weekend for the pride parade, plus twice the amount of floats as in last year's parade. For more information check out Charlotte Pride's website.


 
  • Local NewsMore>>

  • Charlotte Knights Host Triple-A National Championship

    Charlotte Knights Host Triple-A National Championship

    Wednesday, September 17 2014 12:07 AM EDT2014-09-17 04:07:12 GMT

    Pawtucket takes on Omaha for the title of best in Triple-A and one of Omaha's own is playing in for a crowd of friends and family.

    Pawtucket takes on Omaha for the title of best in Triple-A and one of Omaha's own is playing in for a crowd of friends and family.

  • Trending in Hollywood

    Trending in Hollywood

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 11:37 PM EDT2014-09-17 03:37:24 GMT
    They're Hollywood's hottest couple and they have big news!  Plus, Kayne West is at AGAIN! Also, Kings of Leon rocks out in Charlotte and one of the biggest music groups on the pop scene is coming to Charlotte in a week and a half!  Get your dose of entertainment news here!
    They're Hollywood's hottest couple and they have big news!  Plus, Kayne West is at AGAIN! Also, Kings of Leon rocks out in Charlotte and one of the biggest music groups on the pop scene is coming to Charlotte in a week and a half!  Get your dose of entertainment news here!
  • Veterans Affairs Hospital in Salisbury Holds Town Hall Meeting

    Veterans Affairs Hospital in Salisbury Holds Town Hall Meeting

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 11:25 PM EDT2014-09-17 03:25:52 GMT
    The VA Hospital in Salisbury held a town hall for veterans Tuesday night.
    The VA Hospital in Salisbury held a town hall for veterans Tuesday night.
Powered by WorldNow

WHBQ-TV | Fox 13
485 S. Highland St.
Memphis, TN 38111

Main Station: (901) 320-1313
Newsroom: (901) 320-1340

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices