Bashara back in court, asks for laptop in jail cell - FOX13 News, WHBQ FOX 13

Bashara back in court, asks for laptop in jail cell to review legal documents

Posted: Updated:
Robert "Bob" Bashara in court Dec. 10, 2013 Robert "Bob" Bashara in court Dec. 10, 2013
(WJBK) -

Robert "Bob" Bashara appeared Tuesday in Wayne County Circuit Court. He came to court asking the judge for a special request.

Bashara told Judge Vonda Evans he has "distorted vision" and using a computer to enlarge the type "would be most helpful" while reviewing legal documents.

Bashara awaits a first-degree murder trial, charged in the strangulation of his wife, Jane. She was killed at the couple's Grosse Pointe Park home in January 2012. Her body was found in her abandoned car in Detroit.

VIDEO: Click on the video player above to hear more from Bashara and lawyers in court in a report from Fox 2's Amy Lange, or read the story below

Evans says she'll consult the jail and reconsider the issue Jan. 9.
__________

"How you doing Mr. Bashara?"
"Your honor, good morning to you."
"Thank you."
"Happy holidays."
"Thank you so much."

Polite - appearing in court in his prison garb in front of Judge Vonda Evans. Technically Bob Bashara is staying at the Wayne County Jail until he goes on trial for murdering his wife, Jane, in March. And while he's here his attorney says he needs a laptop to review the thousands of pages of evidence in the case against him.

"Judge, there is more discovery in this case than I've had in any other case," Mark Procida, Bashara's attorney, said in court.
"And you've been practicing, what? Vonda cuts in.
"27 years."
"So you just started not too long ago..."

A little joke but a serious issue. Assistant Wayne County Prosecutor Lisa Lindsey arguing Bob Bashara is the last person who should have access to a computer.

"The people would strenuously and vehemently object due to the issues of witness intimidation and obstruction of justice and Mr. Bashara already pleading guilty to have trying to contract a hit on somebody. I think it would be beyond fool hearted to allow this man to have unfettered access to a laptop," she said.

But Bashara's attorney says there would be no Internet access. Bashara told the judge his diabetes has damaged his vision and reviewing documents on a computer might allow him to enlarge the font and read the pages.

"I have to weigh in here, your honor, because there's a piece of this puzzle you're missing. I have macular degeneration and it's very difficult for me to read pieces of paper without my glasses," Bashara said.

The judge taking all of this under consideration.

"I do not want to give the appearance of giving Mr. Bashara any other rights or privileges that any one else would have," Evans says. "The reality is this is not the typical run of the mill case."

Judge Vonda Evans adamant that this case needs to get moving. She ordered that Bob Bashara have copies of the transcripts from his preliminary exam by Dec. 17. As for the question of the laptop, she says they'll take that up on Jan. 9, after the holidays.

-The Associated Press contributed to this report

  • Download the FOX 2 Apps


  • FOX 2 News Five-Day Forecast
  • Local NewsLocal NewsMore>>

  • Sunday's storm captured by Fox 2 viewers

    Sunday's storm captured by Fox 2 viewers

    Sunday, July 27 2014 11:48 PM EDT2014-07-28 03:48:38 GMT
    We have more video of the storm and storm damage from across southeast Michigan. It's Fox 2 viewer pics and video that you sent to us.
    We have more video of the storm and storm damage from across southeast Michigan. It's Fox 2 viewer pics and video that you sent to us.
  • Storm damage in Oakland and Macomb counties

    Storm damage in Oakland and Macomb counties

    Sunday, July 27 2014 11:26 PM EDT2014-07-28 03:26:48 GMT
    Damage was reported across Metro Detroit Sunday after severe storms moved across our area. About 200,000 customers lost power in the hail, heavy rain, strong winds, localized flooding and thunder and lightning.
    Damage was reported across Metro Detroit Sunday after severe storms moved across our area. About 200,000 customers lost power in the hail, heavy rain, strong winds, localized flooding and thunder and lightning.
  • Person of interest sought in April Millsap murder

    Person of interest sought in April Millsap murder

    Sunday, July 27 2014 7:57 PM EDT2014-07-27 23:57:45 GMT
    We now know more about who police are looking for in the murder of April Millsap, 14, of Armada. Sunday, police released a sketch of a person of interest in the unsolved case.
    We now know more about who police are looking for in the murder of April Millsap, 14, of Armada. Sunday, police released a sketch of a person of interest in the unsolved case.
Powered by WorldNow

WHBQ-TV | Fox 13
485 S. Highland St.
Memphis, TN 38111

Main Station: (901) 320-1313
Newsroom: (901) 320-1340

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Ad Choices