Tigers Karam named finalist for Wuerffel Trophy - FOX13 News, WHBQ FOX 13

Tigers Karam named finalist for Wuerffel Trophy

Posted: Updated:
  • Tigers Karam named finalist for Wuerffel TrophyMore>>

  • Get FOX13 Breaking News on your mobile device

    Get FOX13 Breaking News on your mobile device

    Friday, October 4 2013 3:43 PM EDT2013-10-04 19:43:45 GMT
    Get breaking news alerts on your mobile device direct from the FOX13 news desk. On average, you could get as many as three to five alerts on a busy day, as the news merits. Just fill out the form below
    Get breaking news alerts on your mobile device direct from the FOX13 news desk. On average, you could get as many as three to five alerts on a busy day, as the news merits. Just fill out the form below
MEMPHIS, Tenn. -

The All Sports Association, Inc. announced Monday the 12 finalists for the 2013 Wuerffel Trophy, the national award that honors the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

Memphis senior quarterback Jacob Karam is one of 12 finalists for the award.

MORE: Karam named to Allstate AFCA Good Works team
MORE: Karam receives C-USA Spirit of Service Award

Earlier this football season Karam was named to the Allstate AFCA Good Hands Team and was a semifinalist for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy.

Karam's focus and passion off the field has been working with children. He often plays piano for young patients of St. Jude's Children's Research Hospital at Target House, a residence for patients and their families. A video of Karam playing piano with St. Jude's patient Breanna Bercegeay went viral this summer.

A transfer from Texas Tech University who graduated in December 2011, Karam is completing work this semester towards a Master's of Arts in Liberal Studies degree from the University of Memphis. He carries a 3.71 cumulative grade point average.

Karam is a finalist for the award is named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries in New Orleans and around the country.

"Once again we have an outstanding group of nominees and finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy," commented All Sports President Kevin Locht. "Each one embodies the spirit of the Wuerffel Trophy in their own unique way, putting others before themselves.  It makes me proud to know that we have so many students out there with strong values and who aren't afraid to demonstrate those values each and every day," Locht added.

The finalists, who were nominated by their schools' sports information directors or football liaisons, are:

  • Hayden Tippett, Senior - Army - Fullback
  • Dave Harding, Senior - Duke - Offensive Line
  • Aaron Murray, Senior - Georgia - Quarterback
  • Will Jackson, Senior - Georgia Tech - Offensive Line
  • Nathan Scheelhaase, Senior - Illinois - Quarterback
  • James Morris, Senior - Iowa - Linebacker
  • Jacob Karam, Senior - Memphis - Quarterback
  • Chris Hawthorne, Senior - Minnesota - Placekicker
  • Gabe Ikard, Senior - Oklahoma - Offensive Line
  • Ryan Alderman, Senior - Temple - Wide Receiver
  • Eric Soza, Senior - Texas-San Antonio - Quarterback
  • Carey Spear, Senior - Vanderbilt - Placekicker

A committee that includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners, will vote on the finalists later this month, and the winner will be announced on December 10.

"Once again, I'm amazed as I look at this year's finalists. All these young men are truly remarkable and I am honored to have them representing the trophy named after me," said Danny Wuerffel.

Past Winners of the award are: 2005-Rudy Niswanger / LSU; 2006-Joel Penton / Ohio State; 2007/Paul Smith-Tulsa; 2008/Tim Tebow-Florida; 2009-Tim Hiller/Western Michigan, 2010-Sam Acho/Texas; 2011-Barrett Jones/Alabama and 2012-Matt Barkley/USC

The 2013 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association's 45th Annual Awards Banquet on Friday, February 7, 2014.

Click here to leave a comment on our Facebook page
Click here to comment on our Twitter

Powered by WorldNow

WHBQ-TV | Fox 13
485 S. Highland St.
Memphis, TN 38111

Main Station: (901) 320-1313
Newsroom: (901) 320-1340

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices