Luttrell to salute 8 Purple Heart recipients - FOX13 News, WHBQ FOX 13

Luttrell to salute 8 Purple Heart recipients

Posted: Updated:
Courtesy Military Officers Association of America Courtesy Military Officers Association of America

Eight Shelby County servicemembers who are recipients of the Purple Heart for wounds suffered in combat, will be honored Friday, Aug. 16, at a ceremony hosted by Shelby County Mayor Mark Luttrell, Jr.

The eight servicemembers served during World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, and the War on Terror in Afghanistan and Iraq.

"It's appropriate that we pause and pay tribute to these soldiers who risked their lives to defend our nation's freedom," Mayor Luttrell said.

The eight Shelby County soliders that will be honored are:

  • Norman Lachapelle, Word War II
  • Paul Cagle, Korea
  • Robert Baker, Vietnam
  • Ken Duncan, Vietnam
  • Roy Dozier, Vietnam
  • Wilson Foy, Afghanistan
  • Jake Romo, Afghanistan
  • Robert Hunt, Iraq

The honorees are members of the Military Order of the Purple Heart, an organization chartered in 1932 for those wounded in combat. The Purple Heart medal is the nation's oldest combat award. More than 1.7 million service men and women have received the Purple Heart since World War I.

Aug. 7 was National Purple Heart Day, recognized for America's oldest military award.

"These soldiers are an inspiration to their fellow citizens," said Robert Hunt, Tennessee State Commander of Military Order of the Purple Heart. "Being that Mayor Luttrell is an Army veteran, we especially appreciate his personal desire to recognize our organization."

Since 2011, members of the Military Order of the Purple Heart have been honored in 163 cities, 43 counties and 10 states. Mayor Luttrell's recognition ceremony on Friday is the first to be conducted in Tennessee.                                

Powered by WorldNow

WHBQ-TV | Fox 13
485 S. Highland St.
Memphis, TN 38111

Main Station: (901) 320-1313
Newsroom: (901) 320-1340

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices